How to Use Essential Oils to Balance Your Chakras

By: Olivia Day

146release (1)

The word chakra (pronounced CHa-krah) means spinning wheel or vortex where energy enters and leaves the body. There are hundreds of these energy centers located throughout the body. But, most importantly are the 7 main chakras that run vertically along the spine from the base at the sitz bones all the way up to the top of the skull.

Each chakra is a piece of a puzzle that when put together, creates a perfectly balanced human being. Keeping the chakras in perfect alignment is quite a difficult task. We constantly need to work on balancing them to reach the ultimate goal of enlightenment.

But, how are chakras balanced? And while there are many answers, one of the most effective ways is through using essential oils.

Think of essential oils as Earth’s “medicine.” All essential oils come from plants, and due to their molecular composition, essential oils are easily absorbed by the skin. When you smell a grapefruit, a rose or sprig of mint, what you’re sensing is the aroma produced by the plant’s oils. Using a unique distillation process - dating back to Egyptian times - the oils are carefully extracted from the plants into pure concentrated oils that are then used to promote healthy lifestyles.

Now that we’ve quickly touched-base on the basics, let's get down to the real meat-and-potatoes of balancing your chakras! Below are descriptions of each chakra, which essential oils will balance them, how to use them and some queues to know if you’re unbalanced.

Root Chakra

The first chakra is the center of physical energy and where one finds connection with the earth. It develops between birth and 7 years of age. It is governed by the color red and the element of earth.

Essential Oils: Patchouli, cedar, clove, cedarwood, frankincense and sage
Uses: Since you’re seeking a way to become more rooted in the earth, apply these essential oils to the soles of the feet before practice
Awakening Poses: Balancing poses like tree and airplane & seated poses like lotus and cowface
Balanced: If the chakra is balanced, you’ll feel grounded, at-ease, healthy, happy, affectionate and whole
Excessive: Greedy, attached to materialistic things, indiscriminate, egotistical and nervous
Deficient: Feeling anxiety, unloved, weak, uninterested, abandoned

Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is the Sacral in which one’s creativity and ability to emotionally relate to others is developed. Its' developing stages are between 7 and 14 years of age. It’s governed by the color orange and the element of water.

Essential Oils: Sandalwood, ylang ylang, rose and gardenia
Uses: Governed by water, you’ll want to add a drop to distilled water and mist on yourself before practice or diffuse through the air during practice
Awakening Poses: Bridge, triangle, chair, wheel, shoulder stand
Balanced: Friendly, optimistic, strong desire for children, intuitive, humorous and imaginative
Excessive: Manipulative, overly ambitious, self-serving, overly sexual
Deficient: Extremely shy and timid, overly sensitive, resentful, distrustful, clingy

Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra is the Solar Plexus governed by personal power where one has found their purpose. It is developed between 14 and 21 years of age. It’s governed by the color yellow and the element of fire.

Essential Oils: Lavender, rosemary. bergamot, cardamom, ginger, cinnamon, coriander, orange
Uses: Fire is your element to consider here. Apply the oil to pulse points: neck, chest and wrists - the more you build heat during your practice, the more the scent will come alive.
Awakening Poses: Cobra, bow, cat, cow, fish,
Balanced: Outgoing, happy, relaxed, self-respecting, confident, spontaneous, expressive, enjoy life, people, food and physical activity
Excessive: Workaholic, perfectionist, judgemental, trouble relaxing, demanding, testing others, constant complainer
Deficient: Depressed, confused, poor digestion, insecure, distrustful, jealous

Heart Chakra

The fourth is the heart chakra, our center for compassion for ourselves and others. It develops between 21 and 28 years of age. It’s ruled by the color green and the element of air.

Essential Oils: Jasmine, lavender, rose, marjoram
Uses: The air is your friend. Diffuse during your practice or mix with water and mist your practice space before practice.
Awakening Poses: Camel, locust, cobra, wheel
Balanced: Compassionate, empathetic, nurturing, in-touch with emotions
Excessive: Possessive, uncompassionate, emotional manipulator
Deficient: Indecisive, feeling unworthy of love, insecure

Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra is the Throat, the center of truthful and compassionate communication. It developes between 28 and 35 years old. It’s governed by the color blue and the element of sound.

Essential Oils: Sage, eucalyptus, peppermint, frankincense
Uses: The throat chakra rules your voice. So, for these oils, apply to the throat and chest area. You could even add 1 - 2 drops to water or tea and drink before or during practice.*
Awakening Poses: Shoulder stand, wheel, camel, chanting mantras
Balanced: Good speaker, musically inspired, centered, content
Excessive: Arrogant, talkative
Deficient: Timid, anxious, quite, unreliable, devious

Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is the Third Eye; the center of higher intelligence, intuition and guidance. It is developed between 35 and 42 years old. It’s ruled by the color indigo and the element of light.

Essential Oils: Jasmine, vanilla, anise, acacia
Uses: Apply to temples, forehead or bottoms of feet before practice or diffuse during.
Awakening Poses: Meditation, raising thumb knuckles to center of forehead just above eyebrows
Balanced: Non-materialistic, telepathic, all-knowing
Excessive: Overly proud, egotistical
Deficient: Non-assertive, undisciplined, oversensitive

Crown Chakra

About: The seventh and final chakra is the Crown where ego and attachment is let go and the highest self is achieved. It develops between 42 and 49 years old. It’s ruled by the color violet and the element of the cosmos.

Essential Oils: Lotus, rose, vanilla
Uses: Diffuse in air during practice or apply to the third eye center before
Awakening Poses: Meditation, lotus
Balanced: Open to divinity, transcends natural laws, access to conscious and unconscious
Excessive: Constant frustration, psychotic, depressed, frequent migraines, destructive

It’s important to remember that our chakras may never be perfectly balanced. All we can do is work on keeping them at a great medium so that we may live happy, healthy and whole!

*Please use essential oils with caution. Some oils can cause skin sensitivity. It’s always best to research the oil before applying.


About Olivia Day:

Olivia is currently a student in the 200RYT Teacher Training Program at Release Yoga. Olivia's teaching style aims to guide the mind and body in such a freeing way that students will learn to do what feels best for their bodies. Her classes provide a warm space with room for laughter, connection & touches of gentle heat to challenge the mind and build physical strength. She's been known to include essential oils for aromatherapy and have some rockin' tunes throughout practice. Through her teaching Olivia hopes to provide her students with the ability to trust and believe in themselves and believes there are no limits to what one can do!